• Date
  • Genre
    Alternative Rock
  • Members
    Jeremy de Tolly
    lead vocals, lyrics, rhythm guitar, synths and programming

    David Moffatt
    Lead guitar, vocals

    Maurice Paliaga
    Bass guitar, backing vocals

    Mark de Menezes
    Drums, backing vocals

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Website
The Dirty Skirts

The Dirty Skirts released their first EP in 2005. The alt-indie-rock band is based in Cape Town and comprises Jeremy de Tolly on lead vocals and guitar, David Moffatt on guitar, Maurice Paliaga on bass and Markie de Menezes on drums.

The band has toured to the US, the United Kingdom and beyond. In South Africa, the Dirty Skirts have shared festival stages with Oasis, Snow Patrol, Panic at the Disco and Evanescence with three Coke Festival performances. They have also repeatedly been a headlining act at legendary South African festivals such as Oppikoppi, Rocking the Daisies, Splashy Fen, Synergy and the unique Kirstenbosch Gardens Summer Concerts. The road to these achievements is signposted with endless small club performances that have been packed to the gills.

Its been an impressive journey with many radio successes. The Dirty Skirts independently recorded and released their eponymous debut mini-album in 2005. Singles such as “Feeling the Pressure” and “Set Me Alight” scorched up the local and student charts. Their first full-length debut album On A Stellar Bender followed in 2007, with the barnstorming single “Homewrecker” reaching 1 on a number of national radio charts. They released the follow-up album Daddy Don’t Disco in June 2008 and enjoyed 4 radio play-listed singles. Daddy Don’t Disco was nominated in the Best Rock Album category at the South African Music Awards.

In mid-2011 The Dirty Skirts released their fourth album Lost in the Fall. In addition to enjoying massive radio play, the album garnered the Best Alternative Album award at the 2011 South African Music Awards (SAMAs).